One day at a time

My third little ebook, a 3,600-word story called “Sleep,” was edited and then published to Amazon and Smashwords yesterday.

Like my story “Rage,” epubbed on Amazon and Smashwords last week, it’s in a genre I call “mommy noir.”

I find that one extra thing can get done per day. It might not be a very big thing, such as a few minutes spent on social media here and there during a brief break on a workday. More involved projects can get done during the weekend.

Yesterday I also set up my Amazon author page and did some social media. Today there’s this blog post.

This week is already filled, so I don’t know how much extra will get done. There’s an work deadline coming up, and a couple of meetings at the end of the week. On Thursday night a few of us from South Central Texas Authors are meeting in Wimberley, and on Friday night I’ll try to make it north to attend the digital authors subgroup of Austin Romance Writers of America.

Life is busy. Sometimes too busy. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m not bored!

By S.J. Driscoll

15 thoughts on “One day at a time

    • The days go by so quickly! It helps me to concentrate on one thing at a time, though there might be ten others banging on the door.

  1. Congrats, Sally, on your new release! I thoroughly enjoyed, “Saying Goodbye to Ann Rand.”

  2. I love the idea of something a little extra. I’ve accepted that I can’t do much creative in the evenings – I’m just too tired. so i write blog posts and focus on that part of writing and create new stuff on the weekend.

  3. Got a glimpse of your stories, Sally–love the idea of “mommy noir”–really like what I saw so I will return and congrats for the publications!

    Karen

  4. Sometimes all you can do is a “little something extra” each day. It’s fine.

    When we are first learning a skill, we’re comfortable with small accomplishments, happy enough with each extra thing. Then one day, we say “We know this!” and we begin to delude ourselves that we should be able to do it all and do it all perfectly–plus more. But we forget that even as we walk or run, the process is the same–the act of putting one foot in front of the other over and over and over again.

    You’ll do fine. You already know that it it won’t happen in a day.

      • Quite true, and the same is true here. All these little bits extra you are doing are pieces that will eventually work with each other or some other steps. But it’s still all small steps.

Comments are closed.